Board of Advisors

Anthony Cortese, President of Second Nature
Anthony D. Cortese, ScD is President of Second Nature, a nonprofit organization with a mission to catalyze a worldwide effort to make healthy, just and sustainable action a foundation of all learning and practice in higher education. Co-director of the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment and cofounder of the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education and the Higher Education Association Sustainability Consortium and a consultant to industry, government and non-profit organizations.

David Orr, Ph.D.
David Orr barnstorms the country for the environment. Every year, three or four dozen colleges and universities invite him to lecture, often as keynote speaker for conferences and symposia. Several dozen journals have published his articles about biophilia, sustainability, and, as he described it to Jay Parini in the New York Times, "environmentalism [as] a question of ethical design." Two of Orr's books, Earth in Mind and Ecological Literacy, have sold more than 10,000 copies each--bestsellers, by the accounting of academic publishing. Meanwhile, back home in Oberlin, Orr chairs the Environmental Studies Program, teaches and advises students, and oversees the Adam Joseph Lewis Environmental Studies Center's evolution from charrette to groundbreaking. He raised most of the funds for the project, too.

David Blockstein, Ph.D. Senior Scientist
David E. Blockstein is a Senior Scientist with the National Council for Science and the Environment, a nonpartisan organization of scientists, environmentalists, business people, and policymakers working to improve the scientific basis of environmental decision-making. Dr. Blockstein joined the organization in 1990 and was its first Executive Director. Presently, he organizes NCSE's annual National Conference on Science, Policy and the Environment. Dr. Blockstein also serves as Executive Secretary of the Council of Environmental Deans and Directors (CEDD). CEDD, formed in 2001, is the professional organization for the nation's deans of colleges of environment and natural resources and directors of institutes for environmental studies.